Tel: 08444 780898 Tel: 08444 780898
Eagles with Deacon Frey at Classic West © Getty Images

Eagles headlined The Classic West festival on Saturday night (15th July) in what was their first full show since Glenn Frey’s untimely death in January 2016.

The rock icons played a career-spanning 23-song set at Los Angeles’ Dodgers Stadium with Glenn’s son Deacon Frey assuming lead vocals on three tracks – ‘Peaceful Easy Feeling’, ‘Already Gone’ and one of Glenn’s signature tunes ‘Take It Easy’.

Shortly before launching into ‘Take It Easy’, which was their second song on the night, Don Henley said: “This one’s for you, Glenn. You’re in our hearts tonight and the music goes on.”

You can watch fan-filmed footage of ‘Take It Easy’ here:

Later on, Deacon paid tribute to his dad before ‘Peaceful Easy Feeling’, saying: “This is unbelievable. The last few years have been rough. The only remedy for that is love and I’m feeling it from you tonight. This is my medicine.”

While performing the 1972 anthem, Deacon asked the crowd “Anyone out there miss my dad?” – a question that was met with a huge roar from the capacity audience.

Eagles were also joined by Vince Gill for their performance with the country star singing vocals of four songs, while Bob Seger was the surprise guest singer on ‘Heartache Tonight’.

Introducing Bob, Don Henley hailed him as “one of the most beloved figures in American rock and roll”. Check out footage below:

Elsewhere in the set, Don alluded to that fact that The Classic West and The Classic East in New York (29th to 30th July) could well be the Eagles’ last hurrah.

“In case this is our last dance, we want to thank all the fans in Southern California,” Don said. “It all started here in Los Angeles.”

Fleetwood Mac headlined the second night of The Classic West last night (16th July).

Eagles’ full set list was as follows:

1. Seven Bridges Road
2. Take it Easy (Deacon Frey on lead vocals)
3. One of These Nights
4. Take It to the Limit (Vince Gill on lead vocals)
5. Tequila Sunrise (Vince Gill on lead vocals)
6. Witchy Woman
7. I Can’t Tell You Why
8. Lyin’ Eyes (Vince Gill on lead vocals)
9. Those Shoes
10. Peaceful Easy Feeling (Deacon Frey on lead vocals)
11. Best of My Love
12. Love Will Keep Us Alive
13. New Kid in Town (Vince Gill on lead vocals)
14. The Last Resort
15. Already Gone (Deacon Frey on lead vocals)
16. In the City
17. Heartache Tonight (with Bob Seger)
18. Life’s Been Good
19. Funk #49
20. Life in the Fast Lane

21. Hotel California
22. Rocky Mountain Way
23. Desperado